logo

Post RFQ
Home > ChemNews > What does gluten free mean?

What does gluten free mean?

clock2017-10-17

Gluten is a mixture of proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, oat, and all their species and hybrids such as spelt, kamut, and triticale.

 

What does gluten free mean?

The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has defined the term “gluten-free” for voluntary use in the labeling of foods. Any grain other than the gluten-containing grains of wheat, rye, barley, or their crossbred hybrids like triticale can be labeled gluten-free, and if there is unavoidable gluten due to cross-contact situations, the presence shall be less than 20 ppm. However, as with any other non-gluten-containing grain, oats that are labeled gluten-free must contain less than 20 ppm gluten.

In addition to limiting the unavoidable presence of gluten to less than 20 ppm, FDA now allows manufacturers to label a food "gluten-free" if the food does not contain any of the following:

1)an ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains;

2)an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten;

3)an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten.

 

What does gluten free mean in food or diet?

Or what does it mean to be gluten free? A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten. That is people of gluten-free diet avoid to eat following food:

*Biscuits                            *Malt vinegar

*Beer                               *Monosodium glutamate

*Bread                              *Muffins

*Cakes                              *Pasta

*Cereals                             *Pastries

*Chocolate bars                       *Pies

*Cookies                            *Pretzels

*Corned beef                         *Pizza

*Couscous                           *Wheat flour

*Crackers                            *Sausages

*Donuts                             *Salami

*Gravies                             *Sauces - many have wheat as a thickener

*Malt beverages                       *Soups - many have wheat as a thickener

The inclusion of oats in a gluten-free diet remains controversial. Oat toxicity in people with gluten-related disorders depends on the oat cultivar consumed because the immunoreactivities of toxic prolamins are different among oat varieties. And oats are frequently cross-contaminated with other gluten-containing cereals. The long-term effects of consumption of uncontaminated oats (labelled as "pure oat" or "gluten-free oat") are still unclear and further studies identifying the cultivars used are needed before making final recommendations.

 

Then what foods are gluten free(GF)? What do they eat with gluten-free diet?

Gluten free foods are as follows:

*Fruit                                *Vegetables

*Meats                               *Fish and seafood

*Beans                               *Legumes

*Nuts                                *Seeds

*Milk                                *Juices

 

Why do people need gluten free diet?

Under FALCPA, a "major food allergen" is an ingredient that is one of the following five foods or from one of the following three food groups or is an ingredient that contains protein derived from one of the following: milk, egg, fish, Crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, soybeans.

About 3 million people in the United States have celiac disease. Celiac disease (gluten-sensitive enteropathy or non-tropical sprue) is an inflammatory disease of the small bowel mucosa caused by immune responses against ingested gluten proteins present in wheat. In people with celiac disease, foods that contain gluten trigger production of antibodies that attack and damage the lining of the small intestine. Such damage limits the ability of celiac disease patients to absorb nutrients and puts them at risk of other very serious health problems, including nutritional deficiencies, osteoporosis, growth retardation, infertility, miscarriages, short stature, and intestinal cancers.

The gluten-free diet is a treatment for celiac disease. But some people who don't have celiac disease also may have symptoms when they eat gluten. This is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. People with non-celiac gluten sensitivity may benefit from a gluten-free diet. But people with celiac disease must be gluten-free to prevent symptoms and disease-related complications.

 

 

Tag
Share It :