Gelatin is a type of protein derived from collagen obtained from various animal body parts. This translucent, colorless, brittle (when dry), flavorless food is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceutical drugs, vitamin capsules, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. It used as a thickener for fruit gelatines and puddings.
The thickening, stabilizing and emulsifying agent xanthan gum added to foods such as ice cream, cream cheese, yogurt, or salad dressing acts as as a thickening, stabilizing and emulsifying agent. However, gum substitutes are generally gel-like in consistency and are much weaker in their structure. This lack of structure, produces baked goods that are denser because they aren't able to rise as well. Besides, people who have allergic to xanthan gum or dislike their texture in baked goods may choose substitutes.
Gelatin is a water-soluble glutinous protein obtained from animal tissues, mainly pig skin. The thick jelly-like mixture used in food preparation make it acts like a sticky adhesive.
Way to substitute
Gelatin can be added directly to the dry powdered ingredients when in bread recipes. The amount of gelatin required in the recipe is twice as much as xanthan gum. For example, if your recipe calls for 1 tbsp of xanthan gum, add 2 tbsp of gelatin. It can be added directly to the dry ingredients in its powdered form - 1 tsp per 2 ½ cups of gluten-free flour in bread recipes.
Can Gelatin for Vegans?
Gelatin is a protein obtained by from animal tissues may be forbidden by members of particular religious groups, also people who have may have dietary restrictions should not eat gelatin. Gelatin is not vegan. The corn-based product xanthan gum is gluten-free, vegans can choose the gluten-free xanthan gum as an replacement in the recipe.
Benefits of Gelatin
Gelatin are commonly used to in the production of baked goods, such as breads and muffins. It gives extra protein and collagen and helps absorption of other minerals. In 2013, Health Canada approved a label for "hydrolyzed collagen" specifying that the label may say that it is useful to supplement dietary amino acid like glycine, it strengthen the gut lining and therefore lower inflammation. Doctors use glycine to help improve digestive, joint, cardiovascular, cognitive and skin health. What's more, adding gelatin to the diet to help alleviate food and other allergies.