logo

Post Sourcing
Home > Industry News > E471 Food Emulsifier

E471 Food Emulsifier

E471 Food Emulsifier2017-05-31

Food additive emulsifier E471 is composed of two molecules known as glyceryl monostearate and glyceryl distearate. This emulsifier is mainly produced from vegetable oils, but it may be contained in either animal fats or soy bean oil. E471 emulsifier can be found in various foods such as cakes, ice cream, hot-chocolate mix, shaped crisps, pies and so on.

Glycerol monostearate, or GMS for short, is an organic molecule used as an emulsifier. GMS is a food additive used as a thickening, emulsifying, anti-caking, and preservative agent, also is found in fatty foods. GMS is used in food, cosmetics as emulsifier and surfactant, in transparent PVC aggregate as a lubricant; it gives ice cream and whipped cream smooth texture. This additive does not affect the taste of ice cream, margarine or mayonnaise.

 

Is E471 halal or haram?

Food additive E471 could come from vegan or animal origin, as animal fats are sometimes used so it cannot be completely excluded. So people need to check the ingredient with the supplier periodically to determine which source they used for each product.

As E471 may come from animal sources, this is not suitable for vegetarians, vegans, or for those who are following a halal diet. As a result, they need to check the ingredient in the food packaging or choose vegetarian-friendly products.

 

Side Effects of E471

Index "E" refers to the fact that the chemical ingredients in line with European quality systems. E471 food additive is widely used in food industry. It is safe for human body because they are easily absorbed by the body.

 

Related Articles

What Is E202 Food Additive?

Uses and safety of phosphoric acid

Tag
Share It : E471 Food Emulsifier E471 Food Emulsifier E471 Food Emulsifier E471 Food Emulsifier
fi india